Our valued sponsor

Permanent traveller - residency options?

Joct

Mentor Group Gold Premium
Jun 16, 2023
World
Yes, another permanent traveller with a tax residency question. I've spent plenty of time reading here and elsewhere and now suffer some analysis paralysis. We all have slightly different stories.

Background
  • Australian born citizen and naturalised US citizen.
  • I have been a US tax resident for just over a decade.
  • I plan to renounce my US citizenship shortly.
  • No real estate, car, etc., is owned in Australia.
  • I visit regularly to keep my mother happy, see friends and enjoy the beaches.
Goals
  • To continue chasing the sun and spend a few days to a few months in each location.
  • I don't want to default to being an Australian tax resident.
  • I prefer not owning real estate.
  • Minimal physical presence to gain and maintain the tax resident status.
  • For the next 1-2 years, I plan to mainly explore parts of Europe with other trips to avoid the winter weather.
  • Ideally, a low tax environment and not looking for the (mythical?) not be a tax resident anywhere nomad lifestyle.
  • Investigate new opportunities not available to US citizens.
Income
  • 99% of my income is capital gains from options and futures trading.
  • I usually have a few other projects on the go as well. However, income is not material and more about learning new things by doing rather than earning income.
  • I'm looking at other trading opportunities, such as crypto.
  • Annual income USD100k upwards.
Other
  • I would be willing to postpone the 1-2 year plan and stay longer in one location to establish residency if it allows me to travel and maintain the same.
  • I've looked at the Montenegro residency by company option, among others. The coastal areas of Montenegro and Croatia suit my lifestyle, except for the winter months. I'm unsure about the time to live there and the official versus actual requirements.