Our valued sponsor

How to Travel Light for a Year-Long Journey Across Europe and Beyond?

EliasIT

Corporate Services
Mentor Group Lifetime
Dec 10, 2010
Visit site
If you were to travel for a year just wandering around by yourself, what would you use in terms of clothing, security, and transporting your belongings, including important things like money, etc.?

How would you manage if you needed some nice clothes along the way? I mean, there's a limit to how much you can carry around if you don't have a fixed residence.

Primarily Europe but maybe further away too.

Reactions: polonieth
Reactions: JohnnyDoe
I've been travelling for around 15 years, except for a couple of extended periods (COVID being one of them), and I have a carry-on backpack and one checked-in bag. I could never do just a carry-on. I tend to stick to the warmer climates, which makes it easier for clothing. Travel usually by plane, train, car and occasionally ferry. The car is definitely the easiest. The camper van is even better, however, I enjoy the driving part and wouldn't enjoy one of them as much. I continually think about trying though.

For clothing, just the usual things. Mostly casual with at least one outfit for more formal occasions. Plus multi-purpose, so swimwear doubles as exercise gear. Definitely compromises and you need to get used to wearing the same things. As the saying goes, it's no different to pack for a week or a month. You still only need a week's worth and accept you will be washing them. Either hand wash in the hotel, send out for cleaning or accommodation with washer.

For money, I carry very little cash and mainly use cards or get what I think will be enough cash for the visit in that country. I keep maybe a dozen different currencies of small denominations, all totalling around $500.