Our valued sponsor

Setup advice

Zl1dmitry

Aug 27, 2024
Spain
Dear everyone
Can you give me some information and advise please?
My setup:
1. I am a tax resident of Spain (dont want to change it for now, may be later)
2. I set up a company in Hong Kong for investing in crypto, shares, also to trade them (not many deals) to invest from the company. I am the director and the shareholder. I dont want to pay dividends in the nearest future by this company.
So, do I have to make substance in HK?
(If not, the company is not HK resident... it is resident of Spain?) because the director and office in Spain company incorporated in HK.
For Spain its important that the company has activity, Im also work there, and 1 worker 8h/day (no tax for wealth)
The main idea is to invest in crypto/shares, grow up and avoid big taxes. No cashout in the nearest future.
Thank you!

Dta from Spain-Hongkong :
(2) The term "permanent establishment" includes especially:

• (a) a place of management;
  • (b) a branch;
  • (c) an office;
  • (d) a factory;
  • (e) a workshop; and
  • (f) a mine, an oil or gas well, a quarry or any other place of extraction of natural resources.

Conclusion : Your company would be resident in Spain ( you would be liable for spanish corp tax ) and also CFC rules would affect you .

Reactions: daniels27
thank you! So it will work only if I make a sufficient substance in HK, but in general this setup viable?
No, this setup wouldn't work:
  1. Ownership threshold: As you own more than 50% of the Hong Kong company, Spanish CFC rules apply
  2. Low-tax jurisdiction: Hong Kong's tax rates are likely low enough compared to Spain's to trigger CFC rules.
  3. Nature of income: Crypto investing is typically considered passive income, which is the primary target of Spanish CFC regulations.

Conclusion : CFC rules would probably apply and you would need to pay Spanish tax on the income , even when not distributed . CFC = Controlled-Foreign-Corporation