Our valued sponsor

Seeking Expert Advice for Securing My New Lenovo Laptop

EliasIT

Corporate Services
Mentor Group Lifetime
Dec 10, 2010
Visit site
I have just ordered the latest and largest laptop from Lenovo - it comes with fingerprint security and is also supposed to be able to scan your eyes before granting access to the valuable stuff on the PC.

It’s coming directly from China to me. I assume there are no authorities or anyone else who can tamper with the PC before I receive it. Therefore, one should be able to assume that this piece of hardware is untouched!

What would you do first? Windows 11 is a must for me, unfortunately, I’m not a techie and can’t install Linux or anything like that.

My plan is, of course, to set up a VeraCrypt-protected drive and activate both fingerprint and eye scan. Additionally, I’ll be using NOD32 for antivirus and firewall protection.

But I’m sure all of this can be completely torn apart by the tech gurus here at OCT - I’d greatly appreciate your input!

secure it against what?

why using protected drive(i guess that is a container) with VeraCrypt? do full disk encryption.
password protect your bios(different password than the one for vera).

antivirus any would work, even windows defender.
i recommend doing random internet browsing in vitual machine, or windows sandbox.
consider installing comodo firewall.

that's about it that you can do.

you can also ask @0xDEADBEEF and @mraleph

you can also ask @0xDEADBEEF and @mraleph
yeah I was already on the way to tag them to the thread, thanks :)

Protection against strangers, hackers and others that would use a 5 minute window to access the laptop while I'm away.

I have just ordered the latest and largest laptop from Lenovo - it comes with fingerprint security and is also supposed to be able to scan your eyes before granting access to the valuable stuff on the PC.