Our valued sponsor

Programmer company setup help

kikach

Jul 19, 2024
Slovenia
Hello,

I’m new at the forum, but I tried to read as many different topics as possible.
So, I’m a programmer based in European Union and citizen. Now I have my own company and I pay more then 43% in taxes.
I’m looking for the alternative/option how to optimize the taxes. I’m not able to relocate to be tax resident in another country.
I was thinking about the setup to open a company in Bulgaria/Romania …and even employ maybe 1 person for half/full time and invoice my customers for the service from this company. Both companies I’m invoicing are not based in the country I’m leaving in. My income is not big little bit over 100k€/year.
I’m aware the main problem is, when you want to take out the dividends. Is there any way I could navigate through that?
Thank you for the help and input.

If you're an EU citizen, you can book a flight down to Malta or Cyprus today and start saving on taxes legally.

If that absolutely isn't an option, your next best option is to find a good local tax advisor and optimize your taxes locally. If you're paying 43% on your entire income, there are probably a lot of deductions and other incentives you can leverage to lower your net tax burden. How big of an impact that all has depends on where you live.

Forming a company in Bulgaria or Romania and hiring a sham employee isn't going to change a lot. The money is still taxed when you receive them. So it depends on whether dividends/capital gains tax is so much lower than income tax that it's worth all the extra money (and time) to setup and maintain that BG/RO company and employee. And that's if your local tax office doesn't question the BG/RO company... Could end up in a situation where that company is deemed tax resident where you are, and owes corporate income tax.

Reactions: Radko and kikach