Our valued sponsor

Estonia Corporate Tax: to pay or not to pay?

Let's say I'm a resident of Estonia, while being a sole director of a UAE company.
I get a salary from the UAE company and pay salary taxes in Estonia for that amount.

What about all undistributed profits from the UAE, that are kept in the UAE bank account, do I have to declare it to the Estonian authorities? Do I have to pay taxes on that undistributed profits in Estonia?

Let's forget for a moment double tax treaties here. Will Estonia consider the UAE corporation a Tax resident of Estonia and tax it at a corporate level, or not, since they do not tax undistributed profits?

The objective here is to re-invest those company profits while paying myself a small salary of 10K Euro a month.

This is what CHAT GPT says, can anyone confirm if true? However my main question remains, do I HAVE TO declare the UAE company to Estonian authorities or can I simply not give a f**k?

1725429359991.png

Last edited:
If you are managing the company from Estonia, the company will be considered tax resident both in UAE and in EE.

Undistributed profits will not be taxed.

If you hire a UAE director the company would not be deemed tax resident in Estonia but it could be considered a CFC.

It will not be considered a CFC if:

1. The accounting profit of the previous financial year did not exceed EUR 750,000.

2. Other revenues of the foreign company, such as profits from subsidiaries, affiliates, and financial investments, interest income, and other financial income (i.e. non-trading income) did not exceed EUR 75,000 during the same period.

If the company will be considered a CFC all undistributed profits will be taxed in Estonia at PIT rates.

Reactions: Alex Braun and ilke
If you are managing the company from Estonia, the company will be considered tax resident both in UAE and in EE.
That's incorrect since Estonia does not have criteria for determining foreign companies as tax residents in Estonia.