Our valued sponsor

Advice Needed on Registering a UK LLP for Remote IT Business While Residing in Cyprus

Jul 3, 2024
bulgaria
Visit site
Hi everyone,

I’m a Cyprus resident operating a fully legal remote IT business. I have a consistent need to issue monthly invoices to clients in Germany and Italy for my B2B services, with an annual turnover of around €60,000.

I’m considering registering an LLP in the UK due to the lower costs associated with setting up and maintaining a company there compared to Cyprus. My plan is to report the partnership’s income in Cyprus as personal income for both myself and my partner.

I have a few questions regarding this setup:
1. Management Location: If the place of management of the UK LLP is in Cyprus (since all the work is conducted here), what are the legal implications? I intend to pay personal income taxes in Cyprus, but I’m concerned about any potential issues.
2. VAT Registration: Will I be required to register for VAT in the countries where my clients are based (Germany and Italy), given that I’m invoicing them from a UK LLP?
3. Any insights or advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance for your help!

@CyprusLawyer101 might know better but AFAIK, income from an LLP would be considered personal income and not dividends. So you're at risk of having to pay personal income tax rather than the generally more favorable dividends that you'd get from a corporation (as opposed to a partnership). Whatever you're saving by forming a UK LLP instead of a Cyprus Ltd is (probably, largely) lost in the form of higher taxes, if you are a non-domiciled resident of Cyprus.

For VAT purposes, since the services are provided from Cyprus, you're subject to Cyprus tax law. I think you can try to apply for a Cypriot VAT number and do your VAT filings there. The UK HMRC would probably not bother you, unless you have UK clients.

@Sols Thank you for the response!