Our valued sponsor

Question UK Non-Dom resident + remittance basis taxation

atd

Jun 6, 2021
Germany
Visit site
Hello everybody,

I'm currently a tax resident (non-citizen) in Germany (for the past 3 years) and plan on changing my residency as I expect German-sourced payouts in the next 3 years, as well as capital gains from my overseas investments.

I've considered several options:
  1. Dubai (least favourable, although taxes are 0%)
  2. UK non-dom + remittance based regime (most favourable, as my wife is American)
  3. Portugal NHR program (capital gains are likely to be taxed at 28%)
  4. Italy (lump sum of 100,000 EUR per year)

For now, I lean towards UK.
Read several guides, including:

Lots of questions remain though.
I'd appreciate any help.

1. Clean capital - does it have to be cash only? Or can it be stocks portfolio, where its total value will be taken into account on the day I become a resident?

2. Are there any ways to increase/balloon clean capital? I have a stocks portfolio with a gain, which I'd rather not sell, some loans to 3d parties (individuals and companies).

3. I read that several accounts are needed (3 minimum, ideally 4):
  • UK account for spending and UK-sourced income (essentially, an account where I remit clean capital)
  • Foreign income account in an offshore bank (an account, where I get my salary and bonuses)
  • Capital gains account in an offshore bank (an account, where I deposit proceeds from my brokerage account from buying/selling securities)
  • Dividends account (an account to get all the dividends paid)
What is the reason to have separate accounts for capital gains and dividends? Why not one?

4. If I keep gains in my brokerage account and do not distribute it, am I obligated to report it in my tax filings?
Am I obligated to file tax returns on any foreign income unless it's remitted to the UK?